Conversations in the Back Seat: Why I Love Uber

The first time I used Uber, I was extremely uncomfortable. It was the first week of my freshman year of college, and I was kind of afraid I would get abducted. Seriously. I’d never lived in the city- and never really been by myself. It sounds odd to me now, but the idea of getting in a random strangers car was intimidating.

Now, I use Uber almost everyday. It’s a major part of my life. Since I don’t have car, it’s my only transportation to work- and I enjoy it. The most enjoyable part is actually the part that I was the most nervous about- I could be in anyones backseat. Living in a city, I’ve experienced more diversity using Uber than I did in years of being in my hometown. From a Puerto Rica Chief with a degree in Marine Biology and a Copyright Lawyer to a Religion PhD from Nigeria and a pediatric surgeon- It’s rarely silent inside an Uber. Some of the best life advise I’ve ever gotten came from an Uber driver.

“You can’t let the stupid stuff control your life,” he said,”It’s just not worth it.”

“Get an education,” she said,”it’s the best thing you can do for yourself.”

Not only is it completely refreshing, but it’s easy to open up when you’ll never see them again. People tell you their most inmate stories and feelings- painful and happy. It’s a real look into what the rest of the world is feeling and why. In the days after the election, I found the most comfort in the random people picking me up.

“It’s not good,” the driver said,”but I can’t hope but be optimistic.”

Leave a Reply

